Karuna Yoga Vidya Peetham Bangalore

43 Key Yoga Phrases

  1. Namaste – A traditional greeting or farewell that means “I bow to the divine in you.”
  2. Asana – A yoga pose or posture.
  3. Prana – Life force energy that is vital for the body and mind.
  4. Chakra – One of the seven energy centers in the body that are believed to be connected to different aspects of our physical, emotional and spiritual selves.
  5. Pranayama – Breath control techniques used to calm the mind and increase energy.
  6. Om – A sacred syllable that represents the sound of the universe and is often chanted at the beginning and end of yoga classes.
  7. Vinyasa – A flow sequence of yoga poses, often used in styles such as Ashtanga and Vinyasa yoga.
  8. Bandha – Energy locks that are used to control the flow of prana in the body.
  9. Dhyana – Meditation or contemplation that leads to a state of deep concentration and awareness.
  10. Mudra – Hand gestures that are used to direct energy flow in the body.
  11. Hatha – A style of yoga that focuses on physical postures and breathing techniques.
  12. Niyama – One of the eight limbs of yoga that relates to personal ethics and self-discipline.
  13. Ujjayi – A breath technique that involves creating a soft hissing sound by constricting the throat muscles.
  14. Shanti – Peace or tranquility.
  15. Savasana – A resting pose that is often done at the end of a yoga class to allow the body and mind to relax.
  16. Surya Namaskar – A series of yoga postures that are often used as a warm-up or as a standalone practice.
  17. Guru – A teacher or mentor who guides students on their spiritual path.
  18. Ayurveda – An ancient Indian system of medicine that emphasizes the connection between the body, mind and spirit.
  19. Karma – The law of cause and effect, which states that every action has a consequence.
  20. Ahimsa – Non-violence and compassion towards all living beings.
  21. Sattva – Purity or clarity of mind.
  22. Tapas – Discipline or self-control that is used to overcome obstacles and achieve goals.
  23. Dharma – One’s purpose or duty in life.
  24. Samadhi – A state of blissful union with the divine.
  25. Karma Yoga – The path of selfless service and action.
  26. Bhakti Yoga – The path of devotion and love towards the divine.
  27. Jnana Yoga – The path of knowledge and wisdom.
  28. Raja Yoga – The path of meditation and self-realization.
  29. Ashtanga Yoga – The eight-limbed path of yoga, as outlined by Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras.
  30. Yoga Sutra – A collection of ancient texts that outlines the philosophy and practices of yoga.
  31. Shavasana – A relaxation pose done at the end of a yoga class.
  32. Ashtanga Vinyasa – A dynamic form of yoga that combines breath with movement in a flowing sequence of poses.
  33. Trikonasana – Triangle pose.
  34. Adho Mukha Svanasana – Downward-facing dog pose.
  35. Uttanasana – Forward fold pose.
  36. Bakasana – Crow pose.
  37. Chaturanga Dandasana – Low plank pose.
  38. Natarajasana – Dancer pose.
  39. Tadasana – Mountain pose.
  40. Virabhadrasana I – Warrior I pose.
  41. Virabhadrasana II – Warrior II pose.
  42. Vrksasana – Tree pose.
  43. Upavistha Kon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *