Karuna Yoga Vidya Peetham Bangalore

Yoga Words and Sanskrit Terms to Know for Class

  1. Asana: yoga pose
  2. Pranayama: breath control techniques
  3. Bandha: energy lock
  4. Chakra: energy center in the body
  5. Drishti: gaze or focus point
  6. Hatha: physical yoga practice
  7. Mantra: a word or sound repeated during meditation
  8. Mudra: hand gesture or seal
  9. Namaste: a traditional Indian greeting or farewell meaning “I honor the divine in you”
  10. Om: a sacred sound or mantra in Hinduism, Buddhism, and Jainism
  11. Savasana: final relaxation pose
  12. Sun Salutation: a series of yoga poses performed in a sequence to energize the body
  13. Ujjayi: a type of pranayama where the breath is audible and creates a “hissing” sound in the throat
  14. Vinyasa: a flow sequence linking movement with breath
  15. Yamas: ethical guidelines in yoga
  16. Niyamas: personal practices in yoga
  17. Pratyahara: withdrawal of the senses from external distractions
  18. Dhyana: meditation or the state of meditation
  19. Ashtanga: a type of yoga that follows a specific sequence of poses
  20. Ayurveda: a system of traditional medicine that originated in India
  21. Bhakti: devotion or love for a divine being
  22. Dharma: one’s purpose or duty in life
  23. Guru: a spiritual teacher or guide
  24. Karma: the law of cause and effect
  25. Kriya: a specific sequence of movements or actions used in yoga or meditation
  26. Nadi: energy channels in the body
  27. Natarajasana: Lord of the Dance Pose
  28. Padmasana: Lotus Pose
  29. Prana: life force or energy in the body
  30. Sattva: the quality of purity or clarity
  31. Siddhasana: Accomplished Pose
  32. Surya Namaskar: Sun Salutation
  33. Tantra: a system of practices and beliefs that emphasizes the union of the individual self with the divine
  34. Urdhva Mukha Svanasana: Upward-Facing Dog Pose
  35. Vrikshasana: Tree Pose
  36. Adho Mukha Svanasana: Downward-Facing Dog Pose
  37. Anahata: the heart chakra
  38. Ardha Chandrasana: Half Moon Pose
  39. Bhujangasana: Cobra Pose
  40. Chaturanga Dandasana: Four-Limbed Staff Pose
  41. Garudasana: Eagle Pose
  42. Hanumanasana: Monkey Pose
  43. Kapotasana: Pigeon Pose
  44. Natarajasana: Lord of the Dance Pose
  45. Navasana: Boat Pose
  46. Parivrtta Trikonasana: Revolved Triangle Pose
  47. Sarvangasana: Shoulder Stand Pose
  48. Sirsasana: Headstand Pose
  49. Svadhisthana: the sacral chakra
  50. Trikonasana: Triangle Pose
  51. Virabhadrasana I: Warrior I Pose
  52. Virabhadrasana II: Warrior II Pose
  53. Vishuddha: the throat chakra
  54. Anjali Mudra: prayer hands
  55. Baddha Konasana: Bound Angle Pose
  56. Balasana: Child’s Pose
  57. Dandasana: Staff Pose
  58. Gomukhasana: Cow Face Pose
  59. Malasana: Garland Pose

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *