Karuna Yoga Vidya Peetham Bangalore

Nervous System

The nervous system has been divided into two components: The central nervous system which is composed of the brain and the spinal cord, and the peripheral nervous system, which is composed of ganglia and peripheral nerves that lie outside the brain and spinal cord.

The peripheral nervous system has been, in turn, divided into two subsystems: Somatic and autonomic.

  1. Somatic Nervous system (SNS):

The somatic nervous system is responsible for the movement of voluntary muscles and the process known as a reflex arc. This system carries nerve impulses back and forth between the central nervous system and the skeletal muscle’s, skin and the sense organs.

  1. Autonomic Nervous system (ANS):

The Autonomic Nervous system controls and regulates the internal organs without any conscious recognition or effort by the organism.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *